3 comments on “New life for a Classic Mount

  1. Awesome write up! A couple years back my MX+ started acting up due to a loose USB mini port. I sent it in for a tune up and it’s been sitting in its box until this past week due to my move, etc. When I received it, it was 2 months before they announced the new 6000. I’m bummed as I would have had them upgrade the mount while they had it. I do not have the courage to perform the “surgery” you document. Maybe now after seeing this post I might give it a go!

    Funny though- I spent 5 hours in someones brain yesterday and yet I fear opening a telescope mount lol!

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha! Same exact deal for me. Joint replacements, complex revisions etc etc and always apprehensive with this stuff. Those mini-usb connectors have been a serious flaw. I had to replace 2 5000 boards already. The 6000 looks way more robust though.

      Best,
      Dave

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment